STILL LIKE DUST I`LL RISE

MayaAngelou4-1000x246

 

Still I Rise

Maya Angelou

You may write me down in history

With your bitter, twisted lies,

You may trod me in the very dirt

But still, like dust, I`ll rise.

     Does my sassiness upset you?

     Why are you beset with gloom?

     `Cause I walk like I`ve got oil wells

     Pumping in my living room.

Just like moons and like sun,

With the certainty of tides,

Just like hopes springing high,

Still I`ll rise.

     Did you want to see me broken?

     Bowed head and lowered eyes?

     Shoulders falling down like teardrops,

     Weakened by my soulful cries?

Does my haughtiness offend you?

Don`t you take it awful hard?

`Cause I laugh like I`ve got gold mines

Diggin` in my own backyard?

     You may shoot me with your words,

     You may cut me with your eyes,

     You may kill me with your hatefulness,

     But still, like air, I`ll rise.

Does my sexiness upset you?

Does it come as a surprise?

That I dance like I`ve got diamonds

At the meeting of my thighs?

     Out of the huts of history`s shame

     I rise.

     Into a daybreak that`s wondrously clear

     I rise.

     Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,

     I am the dream and the hope of the slave.

     I rise.

     I rise.

     I rise.

No words really need to be spoken or written about Maya Angelou; it has all been placed in our memories by her gentle, and generous heart, which beat with the injustice and anger at the slavery inflicted upon her ancestors. It was a mental slavery, as well as physical: an apartheid of ideological and intellectual segregation, as well as physical servitude and isolation. It still exists with a vengeance in modern society to various degrees, but perhaps, most of all in the country of the free, where the, so called “free” are still denied a meal at the top table with the white man, despite the presence of a black man as president. Still I Rise is as relevant today in many parts of America, as the day it was written, and that is to the eternal shame of us all.
 Maya-Angelou-medium
2 thoughts on “STILL LIKE DUST I`LL RISE

Leave a Reply

