WHERE THE BRAVE SHALL LIVE FOREVER

tumblr_ml4hx8rhbt1s7xoeto3_r1_500

“Lo, do I see my Father

Lo, there do I see my Mother and

My Brothers and my Sisters

Lo, do I see the line of my people back

To the beginning

Lo, they do call to me

They bid me take my place among them in the

Halls of Valhalla

Where thine enemies have been vanquished

Where the brave shall live Forever

Nor shall we mourn but rejoice for those that

Have died the glorious death.”

~~ Viking Prayer, Glory to the Brave ~~

Odin-Cinemagraph

Anyone who has seen the 13th Warrior will instantly recognize these stirring lines. They encapsulate the whole martial ethos of the Norse warrior, and his constant search for a brave death in battle which will allow his soul to be plucked from the field of conflict by those ethereal Choosers of the Slain, the Valkyrie and be taken aloft to the great hall of the AllFather, Odin, for an afterlife of glorious and constant battle, feasting and heavy drinking.

These great axe wielding behemoths of war are not there at One Eye`s expense for nothing; when the forces of chaos and evil swarm over the Rainbow Bridge to take on the gods of Asgard at the final battle and the doom of men……Ragnarok, they will be needed to stand in the shield wall and fight for Odin one last time.

All glory and eternal Fame goes to the Brave; to die a straw death in bed of old age and sickness is for “Nithings” gnomes and little people of the land without worth and honour. 

The Brave Shall Live Forever………………………..

OPTION_2_History_Vikings_Fate_Honor_Glory_SF_HD_still_624x352 

Leave a Reply

