MIRROR, MIRROR ON THE WALL

pic_119206886023930

Mirror.

I am silver and exact. I have no preconceptions.

Whatever I see I swallow immediately

Just as it is, unmisted by love or dislike.

I am not cruel, only truthful-

The eye of the little god, four cornered.

Most of the time I meditate on the opposite wall.

It is pink, with spectacles. I have looked at it so long

I think it is part of my heart. But it flickers.

Faces and darkness separate us over and over.

Now I am a lake. A woman bends over me,

Searching my reaches for what she really is.

Then she turns to those liars, the candles or the moon.

I see her back, and reflect it faithfully.

She rewards me with tears and an agitation of hands.

I am important to her. She comes and goes.

Each morning it is her face which replaces the darkness.

In me she has drowned a young girl, and in me an old woman

Rises towards her day after day, like a terrible fish.

~~ Sylvia Plath ~~

485807_403662656332254_205945736_n

She looks into the non judgemental mirror of time and sees the hope and dreams of youth change with the passing seasons, as her reflection throws her life back at her. It tells her that life is a lie: that the candles and the moon are great deceivers and only the mirror can tell truth from fiction.

“Look into my face, you know this to be so,” it is telling her, “I reflect only what is, not hopes, dreams or what might be, I am the Truth.”

The mirror sees itself as godly, it`s purpose is goodness, and faithfulness of heart: it is a lake which reflects only what it sees, and not what might be. If you look into it`s depths and see only tears and agitation of hands, it is only because it is unmisted by love or dislike; it is what you are, nothing more, nothing less.

It is a heart wrenching tale of a young woman passing through the stages of her life, before this terrible, unflinching angel of Truth. You can hang onto your self deception, but the little god-like mirror will always annihilate your pink, spectacled fables, and reason with your flickering heart.

The mirror is detached, dispassionate, unmoving in it`s bitter-sweet purpose “…because I have looked at it so long I think it is part of my heart.” Time and tide waits for no man……..Age rises up towards us all “like a terrible fish.”

sylvia_plath_by_mizzy_chan-d3h1g78

 

Leave a Reply

